The University of Pretoria Camerata Choir

The Choir


Cantate cordibus, Cantate oribus, Cantate moribus!
"Sing with the heart, Sing with the mouth, Sing with life!"

The University of Pretoria (Tuks) Camerata, which celebrated its 48th anniversary in 2016, received many national and international accolades through the years. The choir’s mission is to contribute towards the cultural development of the student body, to enrich the broader community by means of choral singing, and to act as cultural ambassadors of the University of Pretoria.

Tuks Camerata falls under the auspices of UP Arts in the Faculty of Humanities and consists of 75 full-time students from a variety of study fields, including medicine, engineering, theology, education, economics, accounting, law and music. It is interesting to note that only eight choir members study music and that the engineering students outnumber all the other study fields!

The choir is like our country – richly diverse – and performs a variety of genres and styles, aiming to be a versatile instrument in itself.

Tuks Camerata's Most Recent Achievements


  • V Bratislava Advent and Christmas Music Festival, Winners in the Adult Mixed Choirs category;


  • Released CD, Voices of Autumn;
  • Performed at the re-opening of the Aula, UP;


  • Performed at the memorial service of former President Nelson Mandela, UP Campus;
  • Invited to participate in the prestigious RMB Starlight Classics with international Welsh soprano Katherine Jenkins, among others, conducted by Richard Cock and directed by Ian von Memerty;


  • Performed at the KykNET Fiëstas Awards Ceremony, Pretoria State Theatre;
  • Live performance on Morning Live SABC2 Breakfast TV Show;
  • Named Champions at the 8th World Choir Games in Riga, Latvia;
  • Performed at the National Department of Sport and Recreation’s Indigenous Games Gala Dinner;
  • Represented the University of Pretoria at the Huisgenoot Skouspel music extravaganza at Sun City;
  • Released CD - Phoenix;


  • Phoenix nominated for a South African Music Award (SAMA);
  • Invited to participate in Super Skouspel with special UK guest artist Susan Boyle, FNB Stadiu, Soweto;
  • Participated at Kuesta University Choirs Festival hosted by NMMU, Port Elizabeth;


  • Performed at the KykNET Fiëstas Awards Ceremony, Pretoria State Theatre;
  • Performed with Joshua na die Reën and Corlea Botha at the inniBos Festival at the Sudwala Caves;
  • Appear on Joshua na die Reën’s latest CD “Die Wêreld binne my”.


  • Invited to perform at the 11th World Choral Symposium on Choral Music to be held in Barcelona, Spain. 



The Camerata was officially established on 20 March 1968. Its mission is to make a contribution towards the cultural development of the student corps and the cultural enrichment of the community by means of choral singing. The choir also endeavours to promote a worthy image of the University Of Pretoria through striving towards the highest possible artistic standards together with a code of conduct that meets the highest requirements of companionship.

The choir operates under the auspices of the Department of Music of the University Of Pretoria. The conductors have always aimed for high artistic values. The choir has previously been conducted by:

  • Adolf Theron
  • Willem van Tonder
  • Petru Grabe
  • Prof. Johann van der Sandt January 1999 – June 2008
  • Richter Grimbeek From August 2008 (ad interim)
  • Christo Burger From January 2009 – June 2012
  • Walter Butt From July 2012 (ad interim)
  • Dr. Michael Barrett April 2013 – present

The Camerata choir typically consists of between 40 and 70 voices. The exact number differs between choir years.



Membership of the choir is open to all registered students of the University of Pretoria younger than 30 years. Candidates need to successfully pass an audition in order to be accepted into the choir.



Auditions for the University of Pretoria Camerata take place in September each year. All interested students should complete the Online Audition Form here (once you click on the link, you will be added to the choir's audition database).

Current Members


  • Hanlica Erasmus
  • Ailyn Nienaber
  • Montaigne Campher
  • Rivon Pretorius
  • Tharine Du Plooy
  • Laura Meyer
  • Hulda Viljoen
  • Megan Napier
  • Grethe de Jongh
  • ElsabĂ© Pretorius
  • Maggie Gelderblom
  • Hildemarie Wiggill
  • Cara Bosman
  • Juliette Marais
  • RuhanĂ© Erasmus
  • Liesl Swanepoel
  • Suzanne van Staden
  • Megan Roberts
  • Maricelle Immelman


  • Bernice Ngwenya
  • Megan van der Zwan
  • Filecia Olivier
  • Wandisa Maphalala
  • Nicci Lombard
  • Nicolaide Ndlovu
  • Nonsikelelo Mbense
  • Carmia Maritz
  • Lynette Boshoff
  • Nanri Botes
  • Dominique Pretorius
  • Engela Ebersohn
  • Tayla Scott
  • Xoliswa Ndidi
  • Cassandra Reichert
  • Innocentia Mashiane
  • Elana Christensen
  • Samantha Samantha Chishiri
  • Mishka Pillay-Young
  • Gabriella Lekula
  • Janilna Purchase


  • Raine Pienaar
  • Jurie Johannes Uys
  • Mpumelelo Manyathi
  • Tebatso Molapo
  • Ndabezinhle Shazi
  • Fred Dilaphisho
  • Brandon Landsberg
  • Godfrey Itumeleng
  • James Paradza
  • Hendrik van der Poll
  • Luyanda Sibanda
  • Christopher Oakes
  • Lungelo Moyo
  • Motswhane Pege


  • Archibald Rhode
  • Cilje Nolte
  • Jacques van der Westhuizen
  • Lewis Towsen
  • Sarel Duvenage
  • Travis Alexander
  • Tjaart Prinsloo
  • Michael-John Reeler
  • Robert Burr Dixon
  • Kornel Korb
  • Jacques Adriaanse
  • Andre De Beer
  • Lucas Enslin
  • Simon Dey
  • Ingo Meyer
  • Erno Dykman
  • Emil Paul
  • Ivan Louw
  • Jacques Viviers
  • Siwakhile Maseko
  • Willem van Wyk